I just met you, this is crazy.

Open memo to all bikers:

If I am walking, please make your way to the street.  If I am in my car, get on the damn sidewalk.  Also, you’re essentially a motor vehicle per the DOT (okay, per somebody, not sure who).  No, but in all seriousness, stop being so annoying slash reckless.  It doesn’t help when you’re dressed like a table cloth and spray on denim.  IT DOESN’T HELP.

Adventures in the District

Um, I love DC like a…uhh, a….um, a hipster likes flannel?  Literally, you are in a museum of American history no matter which direction you turn.  I loved ‘troling the halls of the Smithsonian and Nat’l Galleries (East and West!) as for that moment in time, reality is frozen.  The economic crisis isn’t the one of 2012, it’s the Great Depression.  You’re not awe-inspired by the current African American in office, you’re hearing the rhetoric of MLK.  You’re taken to the bridges of London, the streets of mid 20th century Harlem, the sounds of Jazz…I love it.  It’s an alternate reality celebrating our melting pot/salad bowl (I think we’re a little of both) history.  Delights abound.

More entertaining bits about DC trip

–        Being stuck at the United Club (members only) at the airport with my boss.  No, please take your call with the Gates Foundation on polio eradication.  Free WiFi means facebooking for me.

–        Meeting the most attractive man on the current gov’t payroll.  OMG, I think I may have giggled when I shook hands with our Deputy Asst Secretary for Health….DASH…he was dashing.  Mind you, my boss totes bogarted him away from the rest of us.  Hmmph.

–        The security guard who asked if he could call me some time.  Really wanted to break into I JUST MET YOU, THIS IS CRAAAAZY….alas, I didn’t.

–        Catching up with a dear friend (one who I may have met at one of my focus groups in my previous job.  Our friendship is essentially one big IRB protocol violation, but it’s worth it!)

–        Rollins reunion – so excited to hear about the adventures of my dear friends!

Travel Fever!

It was DC, soon it will be New York, then Atlanta, then MALAYSIA!!  OMG, the trip was actually approved, I booked a ticket, it was awesome.  I can’t wait to explore Borneo.  Imagine the stories I shall have :).  So far I’ve hopped on a plane every month of 2012.  Loves.

Exercise

I’ve actually managed to stay physically activeish.  Bolly class = wonderful.  Jazzercise = dang, that’s hard core, but I like it!  Kundalini yoga = 90 minutes I will never get back.  OMG,   Within 10 minutes of arriving, I am asked to take a giant horse pill.  Then it was 90 minutes of not stress-relieving meditation.  At one point, I was literally on all fours wagging my…self like a little puppy.  Sigh.  I may or may not have signed up for a class called train like jane.  I hope I don’t die.

I did purchase an exercise ball!!!  It is soooo much fun, and I’ve only tumbled 10-15 times.  So far, no bruises, Ma!

Kiks’ Picks for July

West. Wing.  Enough said.  Where have you been all my life.

The Bedford off the Division Blue.  Fun drinks, and you’re in a vault.  WHAT more do you need?

Peanut Butter Fro-Yo – when you have (super) siblings like I do, you must learn to enjoy fro yo.  With peanut butter flavor, I genuinely love it!

Next stop…New York City, the Chicago of the East Coast…

One thought on “I just met you, this is crazy.

  1. no biking on the sidewalk! it’s illegal in a lot of places (most places?) and for good reason. there are pedestrians there…haha. bike in the bike lane or on the street, at least 3 feet away from the side! with bike lights, and helmet. this public service announcement has been brought to you by…an nyc biker. who enjoys biking safely and staying alive.

Leave a comment